Sex, surrender and submission in author interview with Isabelle Gray

This is the first in a series of interviews with contributors to the anthology Please, Sir: Erotic Stories of Female Submission (Cleis Press), forthcoming in April 2010. (Read the first interview, with Emerald about kinky Krav Mag, here.)

Name: Isabelle Gray
URL: www.pettyfictions.com

How did you come up with the idea for your story, “Veronica’s Body,” in Please, Sir?

I saw an episode of a daytime talk show years ago discussing a book called The Surrendered Wife about women who literally surrender to their husbands in every way possible, from minor household decisions to matters of far greater importance as well as in the bedroom. Being what you might call uppity, I wondered what it would be like to surrender to your husband sexually whenever he wanted and I thought that was kind of hot so I wrote about this couple and this smart, capable woman who surrenders herself to her husband willingly.

Was it a challenging story or did the writing come easily?

At first, the story was challenging because surrender is not something that comes easily to me, but once I allowed myself to go there, the writing was easy and I felt like I had a really good sense of this couple and how they would be with one another.

Do you have a favorite sentence or paragraph from your story?

I do!

Oh wait, I suppose I should share which one:

On their wedding night, Vince told Veronica that he didn’t believe in punishment. He believed in discipline. Then he taught her the difference.

I decided that “Risk and Reward” is an applicable theme for Please, Sir. Does this theme resonate with you for your story?

That’s a great theme. Submission or surrender is a difficult thing. It requires trust both in yourself and your partner. It often requires endurance. That’s a whole lot of risk, to place your mind, your body in someone else’s hands but the reward is equally gratifying because surrender can be so freeing–to just let go, to allow yourself to move beyond your limits, I find that so powerful.

Is this story similar to or different from the other erotica you’ve written?

Probably similar. I tend to write the same kind of story over and over. Luckily, it’s a pretty good story.

What do you think makes an erotica story successful?

Good erotica turns me on. I know that’s what everyone says but its true. When I read a story and I feel it in my gut, when I’m squirming in my chair, I know I’m reading something good.

Do you have any advice for budding erotica writers?

Get a thesaurus. Having sex helps, too.

What are you working on now?

Thanks for asking! My alter ego has an anthology of her own, Girl Crush, coming out early this summer.

Pre-order Please, Sir from:

Amazon.com

Bn.com

Borders

Powell’s

IndieBound

Cleis Press

Kindle version

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sex, surrender and submission in author interview with Isabelle Gray”

  1. Recreational D/s with Please, Sir author Mercy Loomis « Please, Sir: Erotic Stories of Female Submission blog Says:

    […] Recreational D/s with Please, Sir author Mercy Loomis By rachelkb This is the third in a series of interviews with contributors to the anthology Please, Sir: Erotic Stories of Female Submission (Cleis Press), forthcoming in April 2010. (Read the first interview, with Emerald about kinky Krav Mag, here, and the second, with Isabelle Gray, here.) […]

  2. Kinky college reunion in “Long Time Gone” by Heidi Champa « Please, Sir: Erotic Stories of Female Submission blog Says:

    […] (Read the first interview, with Emerald about kinky Krav Mag, here, the second, with Isabelle Gray, here, and the third, about a kinky college reunion, with Mercy Loomis, […]

  3. Being told what to do within kink, interview with Elizabeth Coldwell « Please, Sir: Erotic Stories of Female Submission blog Says:

    […] (Read the first interview, with Emerald about kinky Krav Mag, here, the second, with Isabelle Gray, here, the third, about a kinky college reunion, with Mercy Loomis, here, and the fourth, about a kinky […]

Leave a comment